The Gauteng Film Commission would like to congratulate the inaugural launch of the Cultural and Creative Industries Federation of South Africa (CCIFSA) this week in Bloemfontein. This was a watershed moment in the history of the arts in South Africa, despite the chaos that was brought under control by Minister of Arts and Culture Nathi Mthethwa.

Over delegates descended into the University of Bloemfontein and brought to life the first consultative and elective conference which came about after a 2009 meeting between President Jacob Zuma and members of the cultural and creative industries. The Department of Arts and Culture later formed two task teams which developed a framework for a federation that will represent 12 identified sectors and 45-sub sectors in the industry.

The Interim Task Team committee which was appointed in February 2014 chaired by singer Yvonne Chaka Chaka consulted with members of the sector in all nine provinces ahead of this week’s elective conference. The committee presented its report in terms of the consultation processes it undertook as well as putting together a comprehensive Memorandum of Incorporation which outlines the proposed structure, roles and responsibilities. It is estimated that CCIFSA will need a budget of millions to set up and operate.

GFC would like to applaud outstanding leadership qualities displayed its CEO, Andile Mbeki for facilitating the most difficult session during the first sitting of the CCIFSA General Council overnight which gave effect to critical clauses of the draft MOI. Mbeki concluded the session by giving the report to all the delegates about the approved structure, adopted clauses of the MOI including the announcement of the elections as well introducing the newly elected CCIFSA Board of Directors.

The newly elected office bearers are:

  • President: Mr Tony Kgoroge – Free State
  • Deputy President: Mr Gezani  “Peny-Peny” Kobone - Limpopo
  • Secretary General: Mr Phemelo Sediti – Northern Cape
  • Deputy Secretary General: Zwelithini Mdakane – KZN
  • Treasurer:  Mr Dodo Moses Monamodi – North West
  • National Coordinator:  Ms Andrea Dondolo – Western Cape

The Sector Representatives are:

  • Indigenous Wisdom: Mr Benjamin Mfaba – Gauteng
  • Arts Education & Training: Mr Windy Mthembu – Mpumalanga
  • Languages & Publishing: Prof Cosbie Mbele (Ms) – Gauteng
  • Visual Arts & Crafts: Ms Sherly Msomi – KZN
  • Cultural Heritage: Ms Nkosazana Machete – Gauteng
  • Audio Visual: Mr Dale Davis – Northern Cape
  • Design, Creative & ACH Services: Ms Siyanga Sebe– Western Cape 
  • Performing Arts – Ms Mamela Nyamza – Western Cape


Address: 20 De Korte Street, Braamfontein

Tel: 011 712 8420



Linkedin:             Cultural and Creative Industries Federation of South Africa

Facebook Page:

Twitter: @ccifsa


Issued by: Gauteng Film Commission